Login |  Register |  help

Catholic League Changing Format in 2008 - NG in Blue Division

Posted Monday, June 25, 2007 by Saints Reporter

Now, CL baseball getting colorful

Color-scheme change is coming to Catholic League baseball.
Like football, the CL will be divided into Red (large enrollment) and Blue (small) divisions for the 2008 season.

Fran Murphy, the coach and athletic director at Archbishop Carroll High and the CL baseball moderator, said the change was unanimously approved at a recent ADs meeting and no opposition from principals is anticipated.

The divisional breakdown will match football's: La Salle, St. Joe's Prep, Roman, North, Judge, Ryan, Bonner and O'Hara in Red; Neumann-Goretti, West, Dougherty, McDevitt, Conwell-Egan, Carroll, Kennedy-Kenrick and Wood in Blue.

However, unlike football, there will be one overall champion.

The top four teams in each division will make the playoffs. There will be divisional crossovers in the first round, with no more byes. The champ will have to win three games.

Also next year, as the CL moves into the PIAA as a paper-only member (before attaining full-blown status in 2008-09), the regular season will be sliced from 21 to 14 games. The schools will play two-game series against identical opponents each week. *

- Ted Silary

This page was created in 0.0938 seconds on server 132